What are the six major geographical region of India?

The six major physical divisions of India are Northern Mountains, North Indian Plain, Peninsular Plateau, Great Indian Desert, Coastal Plains & Islands.

What are the 6 geographical regions of India?

The physical features of India can be divided into six categories, depending on their geological features:

  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • Indian Desert.
  • Peninsular Plateau.
  • Coastal Plains.
  • Islands.

What are the major geographical regions of India?

India’s total land mass is 2,973,190 square kilometers and is divided into three main geological regions: the Indo-Gangetic Plain, the Himalayas, and the Peninsula region.

How many geological regions are there in India?

Regions. India can be divided into six physiographic regions. They are: Northern Mountains: Himalayas.

What is the geographical area of India Class 9?

The total area of India is 3,287,263 square kilometres. It has a land area of 3.28 million km2 which is 2.4% of the world area. -India has 28 states and 8 union territories. It shares its border with countries of Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Bhutan, Nepal, Myanmar and Bangladesh.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How long is the flight from Cape Town to India?

What are the 6 relief features of India?

india can be divided into 6 physiographic regions they are:

  • the himalayas.
  • the indo – gangetic plain.
  • the peninsular plateau.
  • the costal plains.
  • the desert(thar)
  • the island.

What are the five geographical features of India?

05 Physical features of india

  • The Himalayan Mountains. These mountain ranges run in a west-east direction from the Indus to the Brahmaputra. …
  • The Northern Plains. …
  • The Peninsular Plateau. …
  • The Indian Desert. …
  • The Coastal Plains. …
  • The Islands.

What is the total geographical area of India Class 10?

The total geographical area of India is approximately 3.28 million square kilometres. India is known as the seventh-largest country in the world in terms of area.

What are the three geological divisions of India?

Three Geological divisions: The peninsular block. The Himalayas and other Peninsular Mountains. Indo-Ganga-Brahmaputra Plain.

Six physiographic divisions:

  • The Northern and North-eastern Mountains.
  • The Northern Plain.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Islands.

What is the total geographical area of India in million?

The total geographical area of India is 3.28 million square Kilometres. The land boundary of India is also as large as 15,200 Square Kilometres.

Why India is called subcontinent?

India is a subcontinent located in South of Asian continent. It is considered a subcontinent because it covers an expansive area of land that includes the Himalayan region in the north, the Gangetic Plain as well as the plateau region in the south.

Which country has the highest geographical area Class 9?

Canada. Hint: Covering an expansion of over 6.6 million square miles, it is the world’s largest country by landmass, beating runner-up Canada by approximately 2.8 million square miles. It consists of nine different time zones and has land borders with 14 neighbouring countries.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Your question: How many varieties of rice are there in India?