Who won Indian Election 1977?

Who ruled India in 1977?

In the 1977 general election, the party defeated the Congress and Janata leader Morarji Desai became the first non-Congress prime minister in independent modern India’s history. Raj Narain, a socialist leader, had filed a legal writ alleging electoral malpractice against Indira Gandhi in 1971.

What was India’s government in 1977?

The premiership of Morarji Desai extended from 24 March 1977 to 15 July 1979. In the 1977 Indian general election Morarji Desai led the Janata Party to victory against the Congress party.

Which party won the elections of 1977 and who made the government?

On 7 March 1977, the Election Commission announced the result in which Pakistan Peoples Party won the largest landslide victory in Pakistan’s electoral history, winning 155 out of 200 seats in the Parliament.

Who won Indira Gandhi 1977?

Narain joined with other opposition parties to form the Janata alliance to face Mrs. Gandhi’s Congress party. Narain once again stood against her from the Rae Bareli constituency. He defeated her with a margin of more than fifty thousand votes.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How did Walmart start in India?

What happened in 1977 in the world?

Star Wars opens in cinemas, first Apple II computers go on sale, TV Mini Series “Roots” is aired, First commercial flight Concord, Elvis Presley Dies at the age of 42, NASA space shuttle first test flight, UK Jubilee celebrations, Roman Polanski is arrested and Charged, Alaskan Oil Pipeline completed, New York City …

Who won 1971 election in India?

Under the leadership of Indira Gandhi, the Indian National Congress (R) led a campaign which focused on reducing poverty and won a landslide victory, overcoming a split in the party and regaining many of the seats lost in the previous election.

How many seats did BJP won in 1980?

In the ensuing elections, the INC won 353 seats and the Janata Party just 31 seats, with Charan Singh’s Janata Party (Secular) taking 41. The Janata Party alliance continued to split over the subsequent years.

Who won 1967 elections?

1967 Indian general election

Leader Indira Gandhi Deendayal Upadhyaya
Leader’s seat Rae Bareli Did not contest
Seats won 283 35
Seat change 78 21

Who Found BJP party?

Legislative elections were held in East Bengal between 8 and 12 March 1954, the first since Pakistan became an independent country in 1947. The opposition United Front led by the Awami League and Krishak Sramik Party won a landslide victory with 223 of the 309 seats.

Who won 1985 election in Pakistan?

Voter turnout was 52.93%, considerably lower than the previous two elections. Most of the elected MNAs were supporters of the Zia regime. A new government was formed under the leadership of Muhammad Khan Junejo, a lesser known figure in national politics.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How many govt primary schools are there in India?

What was the result of Election 1970?

The result was a victory for the Awami League, which gained an absolute majority, winning 160 of the 162 general seats and all seven women’s seats in East Pakistan. The PPP won only 81 general seats and five women’s seats, all in West Pakistan.

Who won 1977 general election?

At 81, Desai became the oldest man to be elected Prime Minister of India.

1977 Indian general election.

Leader Morarji Desai Indira Gandhi
Party JP INC
Leader’s seat Surat Rae Bareli (lost)
Seats won 295 154
Seat change 260 198

Who won raebareli seat in 1952?

Members of Lok Sabha

Election Member
1952 (4 candidates elected) B N Kureel Feroze Gandhi Vishambhar Dayal Swami Ramanand
1957 (2 candidates elected) Baij Nath Kureel Feroze Gandhi (Died in 1960)
1960 ^ R P Singh (bye-poll to replace Feroze Gandhi)
1962 R. P. Singh

Who won the election against Indira Gandhi?

When the government finally called elections in 1977, the opposition Janata Party alliance defeated Gandhi’s Congress (R) party. Raj Narain defeated Indira Gandhi in the Rae Bareilly constituency by a margin of 55,200 votes.